USDA designates five Nebraska counties as primary natural disaster areas

Emergency loans available for affected producers


Source: USDA

via Morning AgClips - Sep 18, 2022


WASHINGTON This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.


According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.


Impacted Area: Nebraska


Triggering Disaster: Drought


Application Deadline: April 17, 2023


Primary Counties Eligible: Arthur, Banner, McPherson, Scotts Bluff and Sioux


Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Nebraska:


more, including links